Book Review: What Falls From the Sky

Happy Holy week, everyone! Resurrection Sunday was a beautiful rest day for my family. Elijah, my son, stayed up all day without a nap, which should have been stressful, considering he is only 2, but was not. He was wonderfully behaved all day, and played like the sweet little boy he is until almost 9 pm, when he passed out in the crook of Daddy’s arm. Noah and I celebrate the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus Christ on Passover, which was full of friends and good food this year. That freed up our Sunday from being chock-full of activities to one of ease and peace. It was so nice to leave our unusually crammed church after the Easter service, and have nothing to do but relax with loved ones.

Thanks largely in part to our rest day, I polished off my eleventh read of 2017. The book is called “What Falls from the Sky: How I Disconnected from the Internet and Reconnected with the God Who Made the Clouds,” written by Esther Emery. Since I finished it yesterday, I decided to blog a quick review, while it’s still fresh on my mind.

17917195_10155230310939723_1198785367906145250_o

In short, I devoured this novel. The story is a recap of Emery’s real life “Year without Internet,” but it arcs like a perfectly planned piece of fiction. I teared up when she grieved, and smiled when she laughed. An incredibly vivid, lyrical book, it describes Mrs. Emery’s testimony of coming to Christ, but it is so much more than just that. Her wounds are explored in their raw pain, and her healing felt like mine as I followed her journey. I could barely put the book down.

In many ways, I feel that if I were ever to talk to Esther Emery about theology and doctrine, we would have a heated argument. Thankfully, her memoir is less about the nuances of Biblical theory, and more a confession of faith in something she (admittedly) didn’t completely understand. As a former liberal feminist, I wholeheartedly related to the struggles she described with Christianity, and that was worth more to me than any debate on doctrine could have been.

I actually found “What Fall from the Sky” because of Esther Emery’s YouTube channel on homesteading, a topic I’ve recently become completely obsessed with. Since her work details her year without electronic communication of any form, it touches, also, on the steps that lead to her homestead. I expected it to coax the reader to follow a holistic lifestyle, but it’s about much more than just that. Emery led me into deep, muddy thoughts about imperialism and my fellow human beings around the world, and I craved more when it ended. All-in-all, I treasured the entire book.

Leave a Reply

